1. Study of existing timber resources, system and infrastructure of forest management

Legislative regulation of forest management system is now under deep reconstruction. The project of Forest Code of Russian Federation is being under discussion by interested parties for two years. It is planned to introduce it in 2006. Principal innovations of the Forest Code are to concentrate forest management functions on the federal level, to introduce a unified forest cadastre and timber resources’ users, to let acquire the rent right on timber resources exclusively by means of auction and, above all, to make it possible to acquire forest into private property on the expiry of long-term lease. The question of introduction of private property on timberlands is being narrowly discussed and it is even possible that it will be brought out of the Forest Code. Meanwhile, periodical alternations of laws currently in force add an unexpectedness factor into the work of timber enterprises. It is necessary to admit, that current system of forest management makes full provision for restoration of timber resources if obeyed.

Russian timber resources make a quarter of Earth general resources (82 milliard cubic meters). At the same time, over several latest years no more than 13% of potential yearly woodcutting areas are being felled. Structurally the most part of timber resources has natural origin and consists of mixed, overmature forests of low productivity. The most part of soil (approximately 66% for Republic of Komi) is of the 3rd – 4th categories (clay, turfy, marsh soils and floating earth with high humidity level). For wheeled equipment, used when transporting timber from the upper timber landings to the yards, these soils are practically impassable, so additional road construction is needed.

Transportation of production is a serious problem for loggers, because suitable for exploitation timber resources are located rather far from the existing roads. There is a shortage not only of timber-carrying roads, but also motor roads of general use. At the same time in most regions at the local level there is a lack of sufficient basis for road construction and maintenance. When transporting logs to consumers, one can count railroad problems. Low volumes of logging make work of part of railroads unprofitable and cause closure of branch lines and cuts off loggers from consumers. Besides, there is also a lack of rolling stock.

In most regions electric power, combustible-lubricating materials (CLM) supply and telecommunications system is quite satisfactory. In general, population is sufficiently supplied with foodstuffs, living essentials and first medical care. Meanwhile, public conveyances are rather outdated. (Appendix 1).

1. Изучение существующего лесофонда, системы и инфраструктуры лесопользования.

Законодательное регулирование системы лесопользования в настоящее время подвергается серьезной переработке. Проект Лесного Кодекса Российской Федерации находится в стадии обсуждения заинтересованными инстанциями на протяжении двух лет и его введение планируется с 2006 года. Основные новации Лесного Кодекса это концентрация функций по распоряжению лесом на федеральном центре, введение единого кадастра лесов и пользователей лесных ресурсов, получение прав аренды на лесофонд исключительно через аукцион и, главное, возможность получения леса в частную собственность по истечении срока долгосрочной аренды. Вопрос о введении частной собственности на лесные угодья изучается особенно пристально и, возможно, даже будет выведен за рамки Лесного Кодекса. Пока же периодические изменения действующего законодательства привносят фактор непредсказуемости в работу лесозаготовительной отрасли. Следует признать, что действующая система лесопользования полностью предусматривает восстановление лесных запасов при ее соблюдении.

Запасы леса в России составляют четверть общемировых ( 82 млрд.м3). При этом на протяжении последних лет заготавливается не более 13% от потенциального объема ежегодной лесосеки. По структуре большая часть лесофонда имеет естественное происхождение и состоит из смешанных, перестойных лесов низкой продуктивности. Большая часть грунтов (для Республики Коми 66%) принадлежат 3-4 категории (глинистые, торфяно-болотные почвы и плывуны с высокой влажностью). Для колесной техники, применяемой при транспортировке древесины с верхних складов на нижние, такие грунты практически непроходимы, и требуется дополнительная прокладка дорог.

Серьезную проблему для лесопользователей составляет транспортировка продукции. Так пригодный для эксплуатации лесофонд находится на большом удалении от существующих дорог. Не хватает не только лесовозных дорог, но и автомобильных дорог общего назначения. При этом в большей части регионов на местах нет достаточной базы для дорожного строительства и ремонта дорог. В части транспортировки лесопродукции потребителям возникают проблемы с железными дорогами. Низкие объёмы заготовки делают нерентабельной работу части железнодорожных магистралей, что влечет за собой закрытие отдельных веток и отрезание лесозаготовителей от потребителей продукции. Кроме того, ощущается недостаток подвижного железнодорожного состава.

В большинстве регионов на удовлетворительном уровне находится снабжение электроэнергией и ГСМ, системы связи. В основном налажено снабжение населения продовольственными товарами и товарами первой необходимости, обеспечение первой медицинской помощью. При этом сильно отстает система общественного транспорта. (см. Приложение 1).